LITTLE LIT AUTHOR: DAVID SEOW [PART 3]

This is part of the “Little Lit Author’s First…” series. Today we are continuing with Part 3 of  the interview with one of  Singapore’s first authors of children’s literature – David Seow. 

 

~ SINGAPOREAN CHILDREN’S LITERATURE SCENE IN THE FUTURE ~ 

Linn Shekinah: What do you think of the future of our children’s literature [publishing, writing, distribution, selling] scene? How would you like to evolve as a writer? 

David Seow: I think the children’s publishing scene here has come a long way but it’s still got a long way to go, but it’s getting there.

I work with an amazing editor, Sheri Tan, and my publisher, Epigram Books, publishes some of the most stunning books around. They’ve even managed to get my books for sale online at Waterstones, Foyles and Amazon.

And my distributor, Closetful of Books is doing a great job of arranging school visits for me and getting some of my titles into bookstores.

As mentioned, I think the team at the National Book Council is doing a tremendous job and it’s not an easy job either. But they manage to outdo themselves year after year and I think their accomplishments are largely overlooked by most, sadly.

Every year they bring in literary heavyweights such as Sally Gardner, Wendy Orr, Leonard Marcus and Chris Cheng, and while they’re here they’re introduced to local children’s literature, which they would not be otherwise. They also promote our books when they go abroad to book fairs in countries like India, China, London and Bologna, Italy. So they are doing everything in their power to get our books out there.

As a writer, you always want to grow. Just as I want to become a better person, I also want to become a better writer with each passing day, month, and year. Writing like life is always changing, always evolving and always unpredictable.

 

Linn Shekinah: How do you wish to be remembered as a writer? 

David Seow: I would say I’d like to be remembered and as the enfant terrible of children’s picture books.

 1 | 2 | 3

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,
